Marie Laurencin: Sapphic Paris

Description

Save
To save to your favorites you must login first.

Beginning in the early 20th century, French artist Marie Laurencin (1883–1956) created a unique pictorial world that placed women at the center of modern art. With a highly original painting style that defied categorization, she moved seamlessly between the male-dominated cubist avant-garde, lesbian literary and artistic circles, and the realms of fashion, ballet, and decorative arts.

This exhibition explores Laurencin’s career, from her self-portraits to her collaborative decorative projects; from her early cubist paintings to her signature work—feminine and discreetly queer—that defined 1920s Paris. Presenting 38 works by Laurencin, it examines how her visualization of a “sapphic modernity” subtly but radically challenges existing narratives of modern European art.

Marie Laurencin: Sapphic Paris is organized by the Barnes Foundation and curated by Simonetta Fraquelli, consultant curator, and Cindy Kang, curator at the Barnes.

Admission Information
Marie Laurencin: Sapphic Paris is included with the cost of general admission.

Members get FREE admission.
Not a member? Join today!

If you need help planning your visit, call 614.221.6801. Click here for information about ticket prices, parking, and additional visit information.

Member Preview Party
April 4, 5:00–8:00 PM
Open to members only

This spring, we invite you to step into the worlds of Robin F. Williams and Marie Laurencin—artists born a century apart yet connected by their powerful portrayals of women in art.

This member-exclusive evening includes exhibition previews for Robin F. Williams: We’ve Been Expecting You and Marie Laurencin: Sapphic Paris, light hors d’oeuvres, cash bar, and a curator-led gallery talk.

Members get free admission, access to member-only exhibition previews, and more.

Details

Sat, Jul 20 • All Day

Columbus Museum of Art • 480 East Broad Street, Columbus 43215

Central

Events Dates

Sat, Jul 20 All Day

Sun, July 21 • All Day

Mon, July 22 • All Day

Tue, July 23 • All Day

Wed, July 24 • All Day

Thu, July 25 • All Day

See More Dates

Fri, July 26 • All Day

Sat, July 27 • All Day

Sun, July 28 • All Day

Mon, July 29 • All Day

Tue, July 30 • All Day

Wed, July 31 • All Day

Thu, August 1 • All Day

Fri, August 2 • All Day

Sat, August 3 • All Day

Sun, August 4 • All Day

Mon, August 5 • All Day

Tue, August 6 • All Day

Wed, August 7 • All Day

Thu, August 8 • All Day

Fri, August 9 • All Day

Sat, August 10 • All Day

Sun, August 11 • All Day

Mon, August 12 • All Day

Tue, August 13 • All Day

Wed, August 14 • All Day

Thu, August 15 • All Day

Fri, August 16 • All Day

Sat, August 17 • All Day

Sun, August 18 • All Day

Hide Dates

Description

Save
To save to your favorites you must login first.
Beginning in the early 20th century, French artist Marie Laurencin (1883–1956) created a unique pictorial world that placed women at the center of modern art. With a highly original painting style that defied categorization, she moved seamlessly between the male-dominated cubist avant-garde, lesbian literary and artistic circles, and the realms of fashion, ballet, and decorative arts. This exhibition explores Laurencin’s career, from her self-portraits to her collaborative decorative projects; from her early cubist paintings to her signature work—feminine and discreetly queer—that defined 1920s Paris. Presenting 38 works by Laurencin, it examines how her visualization of a “sapphic modernity” subtly but radically challenges existing narratives of modern European art. Marie Laurencin: Sapphic Paris is organized by the Barnes Foundation and curated by Simonetta Fraquelli, consultant curator, and Cindy Kang, curator at the Barnes. Admission Information Marie Laurencin: Sapphic Paris is included with the cost of general admission. Members get FREE admission. Not a member? Join today! If you need help planning your visit, call 614.221.6801. Click here for information about ticket prices, parking, and additional visit information. Member Preview Party April 4, 5:00–8:00 PM Open to members only This spring, we invite you to step into the worlds of Robin F. Williams and Marie Laurencin—artists born a century apart yet connected by their powerful portrayals of women in art. This member-exclusive evening includes exhibition previews for Robin F. Williams: We’ve Been Expecting You and Marie Laurencin: Sapphic Paris, light hors d’oeuvres, cash bar, and a curator-led gallery talk. Members get free admission, access to member-only exhibition previews, and more.

Marie Laurencin: Sapphic Paris

map

Marie Laurencin: Sapphic Paris

Claim this listing

Report as closed

Submit New Event

Registration

Forgotten Password?

X
To save to your favorites you must login first.
Login Here
X
You must be logged in to use this feature.