Robin F. Williams: We’ve Been Expecting You

Description

Save
To save to your favorites you must login first.

Exhibition Description
The Columbus Museum of Art is pleased to organize and present the first solo institutional exhibition featuring the work of the Columbus-born, Brooklyn-based artist, Robin F. Williams (born 1984). The exhibition includes work from a seventeen-year timeframe, highlighting recurring themes in Williams’ work including the body, gender and identity expression, digital trends and artificial intelligence, folklore, and the supernatural. These paintings trace intriguing changes in Williams’ oeuvre while highlighting the dynamism within her technical process.

Williams’ early paintings reference art historical styles and genres with wry, dreamlike twists. Many of these works challenge gender expectations, for example, men in repose and women engaging in pleasurable activities without guilt. Film is another signature theme in Williams’ work. In one such passage, renderings of female actresses from iconic movies like Rosemary’s Baby and Pulp Fiction are captured in still-shot frames and re-named “Siri” after Apple Inc.’s digital assistant, thereby commenting on the feminization of AI technology. Throughout, figures are presented as fully conscious of the viewer, evidenced in both moments of cool detachment, as well as mocking confrontation.

Robin F. Williams: We’ve Been Expecting You is the artist’s first exhibition that includes works spanning from her early career to the present day. By positioning the painted figures as active agents “expecting” the viewer, the artist prompts the visitor to engage with the experience of being perceived by these intriguing and skillfully rendered paintings.

Admission Information
Robin F. Williams: We’ve Been Expecting You is included with the cost of general admission.

Members get FREE admission.
Not a member? Join today!

If you need help planning your visit, call 614.221.6801. Click here for information about ticket prices, parking, and additional visit information.

Member Preview Party
April 4, 5:00–8:00 PM
Open to members only

This spring, we invite you to step into the worlds of Robin F. Williams and Marie Laurencin—artists born a century apart yet connected by their powerful portrayals of women in art.

This member-exclusive evening includes exhibition previews for Robin F. Williams: We’ve Been Expecting You and Marie Laurencin: Sapphic Paris, light hors d’oeuvres, cash bar, and a curator-led gallery talk.

Members get free admission, access to member-only exhibition previews, and more.

Details

Fri, Apr 19 • All Day

Columbus Museum of Art • 480 East Broad Street, Columbus 43215

Central

Events Dates

Fri, Apr 19 All Day

Sat, April 20 • All Day

Sun, April 21 • All Day

Mon, April 22 • All Day

Tue, April 23 • All Day

Wed, April 24 • All Day

See More Dates

Thu, April 25 • All Day

Fri, April 26 • All Day

Sat, April 27 • All Day

Sun, April 28 • All Day

Mon, April 29 • All Day

Tue, April 30 • All Day

Wed, May 1 • All Day

Thu, May 2 • All Day

Fri, May 3 • All Day

Sat, May 4 • All Day

Sun, May 5 • All Day

Mon, May 6 • All Day

Tue, May 7 • All Day

Wed, May 8 • All Day

Thu, May 9 • All Day

Fri, May 10 • All Day

Sat, May 11 • All Day

Sun, May 12 • All Day

Mon, May 13 • All Day

Tue, May 14 • All Day

Wed, May 15 • All Day

Thu, May 16 • All Day

Fri, May 17 • All Day

Sat, May 18 • All Day

Sun, May 19 • All Day

Mon, May 20 • All Day

Tue, May 21 • All Day

Wed, May 22 • All Day

Thu, May 23 • All Day

Fri, May 24 • All Day

Sat, May 25 • All Day

Sun, May 26 • All Day

Mon, May 27 • All Day

Tue, May 28 • All Day

Wed, May 29 • All Day

Thu, May 30 • All Day

Fri, May 31 • All Day

Sat, June 1 • All Day

Sun, June 2 • All Day

Mon, June 3 • All Day

Tue, June 4 • All Day

Wed, June 5 • All Day

Thu, June 6 • All Day

Fri, June 7 • All Day

Sat, June 8 • All Day

Sun, June 9 • All Day

Mon, June 10 • All Day

Tue, June 11 • All Day

Wed, June 12 • All Day

Thu, June 13 • All Day

Fri, June 14 • All Day

Sat, June 15 • All Day

Sun, June 16 • All Day

Mon, June 17 • All Day

Tue, June 18 • All Day

Wed, June 19 • All Day

Thu, June 20 • All Day

Fri, June 21 • All Day

Sat, June 22 • All Day

Sun, June 23 • All Day

Mon, June 24 • All Day

Tue, June 25 • All Day

Wed, June 26 • All Day

Thu, June 27 • All Day

Fri, June 28 • All Day

Sat, June 29 • All Day

Sun, June 30 • All Day

Mon, July 1 • All Day

Tue, July 2 • All Day

Wed, July 3 • All Day

Thu, July 4 • All Day

Fri, July 5 • All Day

Sat, July 6 • All Day

Sun, July 7 • All Day

Mon, July 8 • All Day

Tue, July 9 • All Day

Wed, July 10 • All Day

Thu, July 11 • All Day

Fri, July 12 • All Day

Sat, July 13 • All Day

Sun, July 14 • All Day

Mon, July 15 • All Day

Tue, July 16 • All Day

Wed, July 17 • All Day

Thu, July 18 • All Day

Fri, July 19 • All Day

Sat, July 20 • All Day

Sun, July 21 • All Day

Mon, July 22 • All Day

Tue, July 23 • All Day

Wed, July 24 • All Day

Thu, July 25 • All Day

Fri, July 26 • All Day

Sat, July 27 • All Day

Sun, July 28 • All Day

Mon, July 29 • All Day

Tue, July 30 • All Day

Wed, July 31 • All Day

Thu, August 1 • All Day

Fri, August 2 • All Day

Sat, August 3 • All Day

Sun, August 4 • All Day

Mon, August 5 • All Day

Tue, August 6 • All Day

Wed, August 7 • All Day

Thu, August 8 • All Day

Fri, August 9 • All Day

Sat, August 10 • All Day

Sun, August 11 • All Day

Mon, August 12 • All Day

Tue, August 13 • All Day

Wed, August 14 • All Day

Thu, August 15 • All Day

Fri, August 16 • All Day

Sat, August 17 • All Day

Sun, August 18 • All Day

Hide Dates

Find More

Description

Save
To save to your favorites you must login first.
Exhibition Description The Columbus Museum of Art is pleased to organize and present the first solo institutional exhibition featuring the work of the Columbus-born, Brooklyn-based artist, Robin F. Williams (born 1984). The exhibition includes work from a seventeen-year timeframe, highlighting recurring themes in Williams’ work including the body, gender and identity expression, digital trends and artificial intelligence, folklore, and the supernatural. These paintings trace intriguing changes in Williams’ oeuvre while highlighting the dynamism within her technical process. Williams’ early paintings reference art historical styles and genres with wry, dreamlike twists. Many of these works challenge gender expectations, for example, men in repose and women engaging in pleasurable activities without guilt. Film is another signature theme in Williams’ work. In one such passage, renderings of female actresses from iconic movies like Rosemary’s Baby and Pulp Fiction are captured in still-shot frames and re-named “Siri” after Apple Inc.’s digital assistant, thereby commenting on the feminization of AI technology. Throughout, figures are presented as fully conscious of the viewer, evidenced in both moments of cool detachment, as well as mocking confrontation. Robin F. Williams: We’ve Been Expecting You is the artist’s first exhibition that includes works spanning from her early career to the present day. By positioning the painted figures as active agents “expecting” the viewer, the artist prompts the visitor to engage with the experience of being perceived by these intriguing and skillfully rendered paintings. Admission Information Robin F. Williams: We’ve Been Expecting You is included with the cost of general admission. Members get FREE admission. Not a member? Join today! If you need help planning your visit, call 614.221.6801. Click here for information about ticket prices, parking, and additional visit information. Member Preview Party April 4, 5:00–8:00 PM Open to members only This spring, we invite you to step into the worlds of Robin F. Williams and Marie Laurencin—artists born a century apart yet connected by their powerful portrayals of women in art. This member-exclusive evening includes exhibition previews for Robin F. Williams: We’ve Been Expecting You and Marie Laurencin: Sapphic Paris, light hors d’oeuvres, cash bar, and a curator-led gallery talk. Members get free admission, access to member-only exhibition previews, and more.

Find More

Robin F. Williams: We’ve Been Expecting You

map

Robin F. Williams: We’ve Been Expecting You

Claim this listing

Report as closed

Submit New Event

Registration

Forgotten Password?

X
To save to your favorites you must login first.
Login Here
X
You must be logged in to use this feature.